Exercise Test or Practical Test for the SAT

Amber_1010

Chinese-Cantonese
Hello everyone!

If I'm a teacher in a North American High School, and my grade 12 students are taking the SAT next month, and I'm creating a Practical test for them to prepare them for the SAT.
When I title the test, do I type:
1. Grade 12 Exercise Test for SAT
2. Grade 12 Practical Test for SAT

Are they both fine? Is it an AE/BE difference?
I think so. I think 1 is BE and 2 is AE.

Is that so?
Thank you!

Last edited:
  • Myridon

English - US
    In AmE: Grade 12 is not idiomatic. Exercise Test is contradictory (exercises are not tests). Practical is not used like this.
    SAT Practice Test for Seniors.

Last edited:

Amber_1010

Chinese-Cantonese
    What about: "Practice Test for the SAT"??

I understand the logic that exercise is not test, if it doesn't make sense in AE, I believe it doesn't make sense in BE as well?? :confused:

Thanks!

bicontinental

English (US), Danish, bilingual
    Nice explanation by Myridon… other possibilities include, SAT Practice Questions, or Practice Test for the SAT.

Bic.

sdgraham

USA English
    Google and other search engines on the Internet are very useful to find out whether expressions are used. :)

When I entered "GCSE Exercise Test" (with quotes), Google replied:

No results found for "GCSE Exercise Test".

Amber_1010

Chinese-Cantonese
    Google and other search engines on the Internet are very useful to find out whether expressions are used. :)

When I entered "GCSE Exercise Test" (with quotes), Google replied:

No results found for "GCSE Exercise Test".
    Thank you!
    I wonder, is it wordy/unnecessary to say/write "Exercise for practice"?? I think so.
    I found that word in my math worksheets and textbooks.
    :confused:

Wordsmyth

Native language: English (BrE)
    I meant what if we were talking about the British GCSE?
    Then can we say "GCSE Exercise Test"?