FR: le temps d'attente

shamy4

German
Hi guys :)

How are you doing?

I'm studying french at a university in Barcelona and our teacher wants us to fill the gaps in some sentences by putting the corresponding preposition. Then we also have to explain why we applied that particular preposition.

I'm having problems with the following sentence:

Le temps d’attente est long. Deux personnes sont avant moi.

I know that "de" is correct in this case, but I just can't explain why. Does it have something to do with the difference between "mur en brique" and "mur de brique"?

I'd appreciate if you could help me with this, because after having asked 6 native french speakers and googled for hours you're my last chance :)

Thanks in advance.

shamy

• Oddmania

French
    Hi,

Well, I'd say it has just something to do with the phrase Le temps de faire quelque chose.

Je n'ai pas le temps d'attendre...
    etc...

I can't think of anything else!

timboleicester

English - UK
    Hi guys :)

How are you doing?

I'm studying French at a university in Barcelona and our teacher wants us to fill the gaps in some sentences by putting the corresponding preposition. Then we also have to explain why we applied that particular preposition.

I'm having problems with the following sentence:

Le temps d’attente est long. Deux personnes sont avant moi.

I know that "de" is correct in this case, but I just can't explain why. Does it have something to do with the difference between "mur en brique" and "mur de brique"?

I'd appreciate if you could help me with this, because after having asked 6 native french speakers and googled for hours you're my last chance :)

Thanks in advance.

shamy

Yes I agree that asking natives is of little use sometimes, believe me I live with one and you might as well ask the cat sometimes.