FR: ne pas <verbe> + article : partitif (du, de la, de l'), défini (le, la, l', les), indéfini (un, une, des) ou "de" ?

< Previous | Next >

py389

Canada and English
I am a new student of the French language. I have been taught that you should always follow ne..pas by de instead of un, une, des etc.

I wrote a little paragraph the other day for school and when I wrote:
D'habitude, je ne bois pas de lait et je ne mange pas de fromage.

The teacher corrected it and changed it to:
D'habitude, je ne bois pas du lait et je ne mange pas du fromage.

Can someone please explain why? Thank you.

Moderator note: Multiple threads have been merged to create this one.

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Agnès E.

France, French
    Bonjour py389,
    Welcome to the forum!
    Are you sure you did not make a mistake in copying your sentences? Because for me, the right one is... the first one, that is to say : yours ! ;)

py389

Canada and English
    No. I didn't make a mistake in copying. I was puzzled by the teacher's correction and that was why I decided to come to the forum and ask.

saramar

España / español
    Hi,
    I'm a student of the French language too and I've learned, as you say, that in the negative form you must use always "de" instead of du, de la, des, un/e (pronoms partitifs et indéfinis)
    Regards
    Sara

py389

Canada and English
    Before I "question" the teacher, can I conclude from your replies that:
    D'habitude, je ne bois pas du lait is definitely wrong?

Can I conclude that one cannot use du, de la, de l', des after ne...pas?

Agnès E.

France, French
    Yes it is definitely wrong, py389... :(

As for the use of du, de la, de l', etc...

Je ne bois pas de lait
    Je ne bois pas de bière
    Je ne bois pas d'eau
    Je ne bois pas de boissons gazeuses
    Mais je bois du whisky!!!
    Hehe...

Whodunit

Deutschland ~ Deutsch/Sächsisch