freelancer

< Previous | Next >

Ailec13

español
Hi,
What is correct "I worked as a freelancer" or "I worked as freelancer" with or without the article?
Many thanks.

<<Promotional link deleted.>>

Last edited by a moderator:
  • e2efour

UK English
    In sentences like this, the article is always used. Another example: She was a nurse before she got married.
    But in sentences where there is only one person doing the job, you generally leave the out:
    In 1990 he worked as head nurse at XX Hospital.

hopefultoo

English - UK
    I worked as a freelancer. I was a freelance employee.
    I worked freelance = I did freelance work. This was the type of work I had.

I cannot quite agree with e2efour above, I'm afraid, when he says:

But in sentences where there is only one person doing the job, you generally leave the out:

The article is missing because its function has been taken by the adjective. We cannot write:

In 1990 he worked as nurse at XX Hospital.

Compare:

He worked as Chaplain to the university.
    This is because there is only one chaplain - the article is not used because the noun is already definite.
    He server as Brigadier in x regiment.
    This is because there is only one brigadier - the article is not used because the noun is already definite.

In the example above there are many nurses. However, at a school which employs one nurse I could say;

I'm going to see nurse or I'm going to see Nurse. (I prefer the second example here)

srk

English - US
    hopefultoo said:

The article is missing because its function has been taken by the adjective.
    He teaches as an associate professor at XX University.

Would you omit the article here? To me it would read as if there were only one.

LVRBC

English-US, standard and medical
    I think you omit the article "a" only when it is a title in fact or in function - Brigadier, Chaplain, Chief Justice, or Head Nurse.

srk

English - US