from where

cordeliaeugenia

English
Could this ever work in a legitimate sentence?

In 2004 I graduated from high school with excellent results and enrolled in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of XY from where I obtained my BA in Czech language and literature and French language and literature in 2008.

What would be the ''normal'' way of saying these facts?

Thank you in advance.
Cheers!

• HalloweenHJB

American English, Midwest USA
    Could this ever work in a legitimate sentence?

In 2004 I graduated from high school with excellent marks or grades and enrolled in the School or College of Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of XY where I obtained my BA in 2008[/COLOR] in Czech language and literature and French language and literature.

What would be the ''normal'' way of saying these facts?

Thank you in advance.
    Cheers!
    I would consider the corrections in dark red. That sounds more natural in American English and would be best understood in an American university setting. The British English members may have other suggestions based on the educational system in Europe.

Last edited:

cordeliaeugenia

English
    Thank you all :)

For HalloweenHJB: Wouldn't it be tricky to separate ''BA'' and ''Czech etc.''? I've always been told not to ''separate'' in situations like that:confused:
    Could I put it like this:

...enrolled in the School or College of Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of XY where, in 2008, I obtained my BA in Czech language and literature and French language and literature.

Thanks;)

Grumpy Old Man

In 2004 I graduated from high school with excellent results and enrolled in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of XY from where I obtained my BA in Czech language and literature and French language and literature in 2008.