have learned

Sasha Ivanov

Russian
I'm watching a ESL video on YT, and there, I think, a pretty native-like sounding female (US?) is saying this and there's also subtitles:
How long have you learned English? 6 months, one year, two years or more? No matter how long have you learned this language, understanding a movie without subtitles...
This structure "have learned" struck me as a little off, am I wrong? Never before I've seen it used like this.
To me it implies completion. I, myself, for this idea would never use this structure I would use "have you been learning". Or did she use it absolutely naturally?
(She might be a non-native speaker giving a fairly good impression of native pronunciation. I can't discern yet subtleties.)

• Sasha Ivanov

Russian
    But still, can I say: I have learned English for 3 years - if I'm still learning it and it seems it's going to take me another 10 years to be able to say "I have learned English, kind of."

Wordy McWordface

SSBE (Standard Southern British English)
    But still, can I say: I have learned English for 3 years - if I'm still learning it and it seems it's going to take me another 10 years to be able to say "I have learned English, kind of."
    It's not quite right. As you say in your OP, I have learned English implies some kind of completion. If your English learning is still "work in progress" and you're still learning, you'd say I've been learning English (for 3 years). Your instinct is correct - it does sound "off", as you say.

Is the presenter a native speaker? I'd say no. If she really did say How long have you learned English? ..... No matter how long have you learned this language, understanding a movie without subtitles..., she is not a native (or competent) speaker of English. No matter how long have you learned this language is not simply "off"- it's actually wrong.

IlyaTretyakov

Russian
    I learnt English: I was successful, I know now it.