haven't been training for long

Discussion in 'English Only' started by grammar-in-use, Feb 11, 2019 at 2:05 PM.

1. grammar-in-use

grammar-in-use Senior Member

Chinese
    Hello everyone,

How would you normally interpret this sentence:
    a. I haven't been training for a long time.
    ?

Could Sentence (a) have two readings, as shown in (a1) and (a2)?
    =a1. It's been a long time since I last trained.
    =a2. I've been training for a short time. I'm a rookie.

Thanks a lot in advance!

2. Chez Senior Member

London
    English English
    Yes it could be interpreted in both ways.

3. lingobingo

lingobingo Senior Member

London
    English - England
    Phrased that way, it means it’s been a long time since I last went training.

If it meant you were new to training, it would be phrased differently: I haven’t been training for long (as in your title!).

4. grammar-in-use

Chinese
    Thank you very much for your quick replies.

Then how would you native speakers differentiate the two readings? By means of stress and intonation (besides context, of course)?

5. grammar-in-use

Chinese
    Thank you! OK, so the adverbial phrases "for a long time" and "for long" would make all the difference, right?

6. Chez Senior Member

London
    English English
    I still think you can interpret the sentence with either meaning (yes, it might be more usual to say 'for long' but there's no reason not to say 'for a long time').

As you say, grammar-in-use, only context could tell you definitively which meaning is intended.

7. sound shift

sound shift Senior Member

Derby (central England)
    English - England
    I would interpret it as a1.

8. Barque Senior Member

India
    Tamil
    I think it also depends on which meaning of "training" is intended. From the fact that you said this:
    QUOTE="grammar-in-use, post: 18031265, member: 653241"]I'm a rookie.[/QUOTE]