heaped-up/ heaped up

doudou8736

Hi everybody ! I'm new here, so excuse me if I do things wrong, but I have a question concerning a pun I don't really understand. I'm a French student and I'm reading The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne (Norton Critical edition). In the 'note on the texts' it is written: The first edition has "heaped up", while the third and Centenary editions have "heaped-up".
I understand, I think, "heaped up", that is to say when you add a lot of things, but what about "heaped-up" ?
Thank you so much...

• doudou8736

The first edition has "heaped up", while the third and Centenary editions have "heaped-up" (p24); I have used "heaped-up".
    This is the complete sentence. The editor didn't write anything else. And I just can't see the differences between the editions because I have only one.

Last edited by a moderator:

panjandrum

Lapsed Moderator
    English-Ireland (top end)
    Here is the sentence (probably).
    But, then, what reams of other manuscripts—filled, not with the dulness of official formalities, but with the thought of inventive brains and the rich effusion of deep hearts—had gone equally to oblivion; and that, moreover, without serving a purpose in their day, as these heaped-up papers had, and—saddest of all—without purchasing for their writers the comfortable livelihood which the clerks of the Custom-House had gained by these worthless scratchings of the pen!
    Source
    If that is the sentence, I think the comment is simply to note a correction. There is no change of meaning.
    It would be natural to write heaped-up with a hyphen in this context.

Another possible sentence: