Hindi, Hindvi, Hindavi

Discussion in 'Indo-Iranian Languages' started by BP., May 25, 2009.

Tags:
  1. BP. Senior Member

Karachi
    Urdu
    Mod note: Thread split from here.

I think the use of hindvi in language name was a much better choice. hindvi means 'of Hind' or 'Indic'. hindi is the name of one Indic language, and the one the question is about is different from modern Hindi.

Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2009
  2. chrysalid Member

Ankara, Turkey
    Turkish
    Thank you for your attention BelligerentPacifist, I didn't even notice the change. I deliberately used the name "Hindvi" thinking that "Hindi" would have a modern sense and thus be misleading in this context. However, I am not an expert on this issue; so, let's see what the others have to say.

3. Faylasoof Senior Member

Plato's Republic
    English (UK) & Urdu (Luckhnow), Hindi
    I did notice that the thread title has been changed to Hindi, which I’m afraid is wrong! The original title, Hindvi, was correct. To say the language of Amir Khusrau is simply Hindi, is like saying that Horace and Ovid composed in Italian, which they didn’t. I therefore have to agree with the sentiments expressed by BP and support Chrysalids original reason.

As Chrysalid indicates, the term Hindi is usually a reference to a later language than what Amir Khusrau was using. Clico (Cilquiestsuens post #9) quite correctly names the language of Amir Khusrau as Braj -once the primary literary language of the region around Delhi, where it remained so for a considerable period. Although Braj came under the influence of surrounding dialects / languages, it essentially retained its character.