Hindi: In which parts of India is it spoken?

vince

English
Split from here.
shaloo said:
hi,
My mother tongue is Telugu (a South Indian Language)
So, can read, write and speak telugu very fluently.
Hindi is my national language and i can read, write and speak.
Kannada- yeah, im fine with this language,though i can only read and speak
Tamil- i can understand well and can express whatever i need
Sanskrit- I learnt it in college; i write and read sanskrit, but don't speak.
English- im quite fluent
French- i've been learning it for 18 months now and im comfortable(but my vocab levels need a boosting).
Spanish- Learning(...I mean just started;) ).
I've fallen in love with Bengali and i can make out things
(must gather myself up and start working towards learning it :D )

I've voted 5 (telugu, hindi, english,kannada,french)
Hmm looks like I was under the mistaken impression that Hindi was only spoken in northern India.

Does everyone speak Hindi in India? Or at least in all urban areas?

Also, how similar are Telugu, Tamil, and Kannada? More similar than French and Spanish, or less?

• panjabigator

Am. English
    No...according to ethnologue.com, only about 30% of the population speaks Hindi....and they are mainly in the North. In the South, some states require you to learn it but many don't really use it. Only Tamil Nadu in South India and Bengal in East India do not require you to learn Hindi. The South, in my opinion, prefers the regional languages and English.

The Kannada script and the Telugu script look very similar to me...

Actually, in some Urban areas in the South, Hindi would be OK....like Bangalore and Hyderabad (especially). They should be relatively comfortable with it. And in North India, every big city should be OK.

vince

English
    panjabigator said:
    No...according to ethnologue.com, only about 30% of the population speaks Hindi....and they are mainly in the North.
    yeah but i was confused by his statement that: