Hindi, Punjabi, Urdu: apple

Qureshpor

Panjabi, Urdu پنجابی، اردو
Friends, what word would you use for "apple" in your language/s? If you are suggesting one word, what other word or words would you use for "apple".

Thank you in advance for your participation.

• Qureshpor

Thank you everyone for your replies. I am hoping that some kind soul will provide a Punjabi equivalent in the near future and then I shall get back.

Pvitr

Panjabi
    My background is (East) Panjabi. In books one would see 'seb'. However in spoken Panjabi I have only ever heard 'si-au' (not sure how to transliterate! Short 'i' followed by an 'au' sound)

Qureshpor

^ Excellent! This is what I too am familiar with even though "seb" has practically killed the poor "siau"/"siauu" off! Now, a question for our Hindi speakers. Have you come across anything remotely resembling this Punjabi word that is Indic in origins?

Last edited:

Qureshpor

Yes, "seb" has its origins in Farsi. "siau" is the Punjabi equivalent for apple.

Alfaaz

English
    Platts lists the following:
    P سيو सेव sew, vulg. seʼo (=S. सेवि) , s.m. An apple (=seb).
    H سيو सेव sew, seʼo [cf. S. सेविका], s.f. A kind of sweetmeat; dessert.
    It seems the origin for the first one might be Indic instead of Persian or both Indic and Persian, since Hayyim doesn't list سيو (Steingass does, though)..?
    Qureshpor said:
    This is what I too am familiar with even though "seb" has practically killed the poor "siau"/"siauu" off! Now, a question for our Hindi speakers. Have you come across anything remotely resembling this Punjabi word that is Indic in origins?
    Pvitr said:
    Do you know if siau is from a particular region of Punjab? Is seb more of a Farsi word?
    Qureshpor said:
    Yes, "seb" has its origins in Farsi. "siau" is the Punjabi equivalent for apple.
    This pronunciation difference seems similar to سرو - sarw in Urdu changing (sometimes or often?) to saruu in Punjabi...!?

desi4life

English