Hindi: Same

luoruosi

usa
english - america
The dictionary definition of "same" in Hindi is "samaan" but how would that work in a sentence? For example, "We like the same things" and "We have the same name".

"Hame samaan kuchh pasand hai"?
"Hamaare naam samaan hai"/ "Hamaaraa ek hii naam hai"?

• Jashn

Canadian English
    Which dictionary was that, @luoruosi ?

To my knowledge, there is no single word in Hindi that has the same meaning as the English word 'same'. Like you, I'm a student of the language, though, so perhaps someone else will chime in who is more informed.

If I wanted to say your English sentence in Hindi, I would have translated it thusly:
    We like the same things

mujhe vahi cheeze.n pasand hai jo aapko pasand hai

Very curious to hear other forum members on this one.

luoruosi

usa
    english - america
    Which dictionary was that, @luoruosi ?

To my knowledge, there is no single word in Hindi that has the same meaning as the English word 'same'. Like you, I'm a student of the language, though, so perhaps someone else will chime in who is more informed.

If I wanted to say your English sentence in Hindi, I would have translated it thusly:
    We like the same things

mujhe vahi cheeze.n pasand hai jo aapko pasand hai

Very curious to hear other forum members on this one.
    Pretty much every single Hindi-English dictionary website has the word "samaan" as one of, or the top definition of "same," but i've never heard it used before.

MonsieurGonzalito

Spanish
    सभी पुरुषों को समान बनाया जाता है
    (one of the "self-evident principles" from the US declaration of independence, that all men are created equal).
    In this case, it is used as a pure qualificative adjective, not as a comparative nexus.

I believe "ke samaan" used as a comparative nexus ("as, like") is also possible.