Hindi, Urdu: Daraa huaa, Daraayaa huaa

MonsieurGonzalito

Castellano de Argentina
Friends,

There is something very basic about what past participles mean, when a verb has a causative counterpart, that I can't fully grasp.
As far as I know:

Darnaa = to fear, to be frightened
Daraanaa = to frighten

However, every place I look, "frightened" is translated as Daraa huaa, which I find odd.
The (past, passive) participle of "to fear" is "feared", as in "A feared enemy, a feared leader". Someone causing fright, not suffering it.

A "frightened boy" shouldn't be Daraayaa laRkaa instead?
This is very confusing .. o_O

• Jashn

Canadian English
    Like you, I'm a student of the language, so this is my understanding. Please take it with a grain of salt.

darnaa
    e.g. vo dar gayaa
    He was frightened/scared
    The state of mind of the person who is experiencing the emotion, without indicating what caused the fear, is described

daraanaa
    If you caused someone else to be frightened, you would use the causative.
    e.g. mainne usko daraayaa
    I frightened/scared him
    The causative is used to indicate who caused the object to feel fear.

So the causative would not be used to translate the phrase, 'a frightened boy', because the phrase does not describe who caused the fear, only that the boy is scared.

That's my understanding, anyway.

MonsieurGonzalito

Castellano de Argentina
    e.g. vo dar gayaa
    He was frightened/scared
    The state of mind of the person who is experiencing the emotion, without indicating what caused the fear, is described
    So you are saying that a more proper translation of Darnaa would be "to be afraid, to be fearful", rather than the external agency suggested by "scared" or "frightened". OK.

Then, it is fair to say that the passive (as well as past) nuance of the English past participle should not be assumed in the H/U past participle?
    That would make sense, and support your reasoning.