Ho la sveglia al collo?

• giannid

USA English
    A photographer takes a racy picture of a young lady on the side of the road and publishes it. The young lady's boyfriend finds the photographer and threatens to sue him for material and moral damages. They argue a bit and the photographer says:

Ma mi avete guardato bene in faccia? Ho la sveglia al collo?

trip54

Italian
    Hi, I try, nevertheless I can't understand it
    I think the photographer is referring to the camera hanging down from his neck and saying "Do I have/do you see an alarm clock on my neck?" he means "I'm a photographer and I take pictures, this is my job?????? I'm not a.......":confused:
    Perhaps the Italian version could help

giannid

USA English
    Yes, trip54, I think you figured it out. The man wants to sue the photographer, but the photographer is trying to persuade them that they shouldn't sue him and by him taking the young lady's photo, she might become a famous model like some of the other women he has photographed.

I thought it may have been a colloquial expression, but now I think it is what you said, that is he is being sarcastic, asking if he has an alarm clock around his neck instead of a camera, although he didn't have a camera around his neck at that time.

Thanks.

trip54

Italian
    You are welcome, happy it helped.
    I thought it was a joke and I was searching for a pun.

stella_maris_74

Mod About Chocolate
    Italian - Italy
    "Avere/portare la sveglia al collo" is an idiom. Here's an Italian definition from Treccani:

fig. e scherz., portare la s. al collo, essere un semplicione (dall’uso, attribuito in vignette satiriche o scherzose a notabili di popolazioni aborigene, di appendere grosse sveglie al collo come ornamento).
    The photographer is asking: Do you think I'm a dumbass? :)

byrne

English - UK (Londoner)
    "Avere/portare la sveglia al collo" is an idiom. Here's an Italian definition from Treccani:

Thanks Stella! Molto pittoresco!