"Horace is not but sixteen yet" from the Lottery

bbggoma

Korean
I came across this phrase "Horace is not but sixteen yet,” while reading a short novel, the Lottery, by Shirley Jackson.
Does this mean Horace is not sixteen, or he is only sixteen and hasn't reached a certain age?
Thanks in advance.

• bbggoma

Korean
    That's what I thought first, but my co-teacher (I am an English teacher in Korea) taught her students otherwise. I just want be able to give a proper and clear explanation instead of saying it is what it is.
    By the way, thanks for the quick reply.

Szkot

UK English
    To me the more common phrase is 'nought but', or 'nothing but', meaning nothing except:

nought but grief an' pain (R. Burns) - nothing except grief and pain
    You ain't nothing but a hound-dog (Leiber and Stoller) - you are just a hound-dog

Parla

Member Emeritus
    English - US
    Welcome to the forum, Bbggoma. :)

I guess this was from dialog in the book, yes? It's a very old-fashioned way of saying, "Horace is only sixteen years old". We wouldn't put it that way in contemporary English.

bbggoma

Korean
    Thanks. I guess my co-teacher was wrong. (which means I am right :)) Not only that, I now have an explanation to give!

bbggoma

Korean
    Yes. This was the first time I came across this type of phrase. English's difficult - anyway, thanks for the reply!! This forum rocks! :thumbsup:

Hildy1

English - US and Canada
    I agree with Copyright. Not but", meaning "only", was commonly used in the Southern U.S. when I lived there. I think it was considered a little folksy or rustic.

roxcyn

USA
    American English [AmE]
    Hi BBggoma! How are you in Korea? I bet it's nice there. Don't gloat and don't rub it in her face. No one likes a wise guy. Hehe.

I read the dialogue right before and after:

“Don’t you have a grown boy to do it for you, Janey?” said Mr Summers. [...]