How could / can I help you?

< Previous | Next >

tigerduck

German / Switzerland
Hello, I work as an English teacher in Switzerland.

I usually teach my students in Business English the phrase 'How can I help you?' One student wrote in an excercise 'How could I help you?' Is this correct, too?

• Bienvenidos

USA
    English
    Hello,

I don't think it's that odd to say "how could I help you?", but the more common, as you have taught, is "how can I help you?".

Examples:

Customer: Hello!
    Employee: Good morning, how could I help you today?

Customer: Hello!
    Employee: Good morning, how can I help you today?

There's something "different" about saying "how could I help you?", but in my opinion, it's acceptable. :)

Saludos y Suerte
    Bienvenidos

maxiogee

Banned
    English
    Employee A: How could I help you today?
    Customer: You could walk my dog, babysit my children and bring my elderly mother to her dental appointment!
    Employee: Don't be ridiculous, this is a car sales showroom!

Employee B: How can I help you today?
    Customer: You can show me a brochure for the XYZ Coupé!

jokker

Chinese/Taiwan
    maxiogee said:
    Employee A: How could I help you today?
    Customer: You could walk my dog, babysit my children and bring my elderly mother to her dental appointment!
    Employee: Don't be ridiculous, this is a car sales showroom!
    You are good at telling jokes.:D

Seriously, back to the topic, does this joke mean that it's too polite to use "could" in such sentences?

But doesn't it a good thing being polite?:confused:

For example,
    Could you give me a hand?
    Could you tell me what it means?

rsweet

English, North America
    GenJen54 said:
    What I tend to hear - and use - more often is:

How may I help you?

At least on "this side of the pond" it's considered the most polite.
    I agree with GenJen54. It's more polite and grammatically more correct.

CAMullen

US, English