How do native Russian speakers decide how to say a long word?

< Previous | Next >

C.S.Hy

Mandarin Chinese
[ Please comment in English, Russian or Chinese. Thank you. ]

Hello! I'm a Russian beginner from China.

As we know, there are quite a lot of multisyllabic and pretty long words in Russuan. And it is a hard problem for me to decide how to say/eead them.

My question are:

1. how do you decide where to put the main or primary stress?
  2. how do you decide if there should be a secondary stress? If yes, where should it fall?
  3. stresses decided/found, where do you decide to separate the syllables so that you may pronounce them in groups? (I don't think the Russians speak all the syllables as a whole).

Examples:

Контртеррористический

Достопримечательности

Переосвидетельствоваться

• Basically we don't think about it, we just say it. There are few words that even Russians have discussion about how to pronounce them correctly (example договОр или дОговор) but those are very rare.

I have some thoughts on your question, I'll try to say what I think it may be.

Stress. First of all russian words have a stem - корень (the basic unchangable meaning of the word) usually it has about 3 letters, sometimes more. All the rest letters in the word are prefixes, suffixes or endings. The stress usually fall on the stem, but is very shaky rule.

контртеррористИческий Приставка: контр-; корень: -террор-; суффиксы: -ист-ическ; окончание: -ий.
    достопримечАтельность Корень: -дост-; интерфикс: -о-; приставка: при-; корень: -меч-; суффиксы: -тельн-ость.
    переосвидEтельствоваться Приставки: пере-о-; корень: -свиде-; суффиксы: -тель-ств-ова; глагольное окончание: -ть; постфикс: -ся

As you can see only in one of three words are actually have the stress falling on the stem.

Syllables. the number of vowels= the number of syllables. I don't know the rules of how to devide the words into syllables, there must be some logic, but the analyssis must be done.