How to use [Hunt and peck]

< Previous | Next >

Silver

Chinese,Cantonese,Sichuan dialect
Context and Question:

Yesterday I posted a thread about slow typing and then I was told by an AE speaker that one can’t say “He types like a snail/tortoise” because they don’t type. And he suggested a term “hunt and peck” to mean someone who types very slowly. I wonder if I can say:

He’s hunting and pecking.

To mean that “He types very slowly”? Or I need to be more specific and say things like:

He’s still at the stage of hunting and pecking.
He can only hunt and peck.

(The possible question is “Does your cousin type” or “How fast can you cousin type” and the answer is “He types very slowly”. Now I want to use either of them (hunt and peck) to replace the common one.)

Thoughts:

I don’t know how to say that, but I think the meaning is clear while the thoughts are muddled. I need your help.

Thanks a lot

Again: I like BE as well as AE, but I am a teacher of AE, so I tend to use AE in my daily life.

• owlman5

English-US
    He’s hunting and pecking.

To mean that “He types very slowly”? Or I need to be more specific and say things like:
    The sentence is fine by itself as long as your listener understands that you are talking about typing. I might say "He's hunting and pecking" to another observer as we watched somebody typing slowly and with great effort.

Now I want to use either of them (hunt and peck) to replace the common one.)
    You might consider this version: He can hunt and peck, but he doesn't know how to type by touch.

Silver

You might consider this version: He can hunt and peck, but he doesn't know how to type by touch.
    Thanks a million, Owlman. So, here, "by touch" means literally "touch the keyboard" or "type in a normal speed"?

owlman5

English-US
    You're welcome, Silver.

So, here, "by touch" means literally "touch the keyboard" or "type in a normal speed"?