I have met the cleaner for the last three months.

wolfbm1

Polish
Hello.
A cleaner comes to clean the aquarium every second Friday. I wonder if I could use the following perfect tenses to express that:

1. I have been meeting the cleaner every second Friday for the last three months.
2. I have met the cleaner every second Friday for the last three months.
3. I have met the cleaner for the last three months.

I don't think I can say sentence #3, because it doesn't say how often it happens. Am I right?

Thank you.

• Barque

Tamil
    Is there any particular reason to say "I met the cleaner"? That doesn't imply that he has been cleaning your aquarium, only that you've been meeting him.

A cleaner has been coming to clean my aquarium every second Friday for the last three months.

wolfbm1

Polish
    Whenever I meet the aquarium (or fish tank) cleaner I always have a little chat with him. He always encourages me to buy an aquarium, and says that it is not difficult to maintain it.

velisarius

British English (Sussex)
    I'd like to simplify things:

1 I have been meeting Fred (regularly) for the last three months.
    2 I have met Fred regularly for the last three months.
    3 I have met Fred for the last three months. -
    I would imagine you meant #1 or #2, but it isn't good. Use the other versions. In #1, the time expression is optional.

Barque

Tamil
    I'm not sure I've understood. In your OP you said the cleaner comes to clean the aquarium. In post #3, you say he always encourages you to buy an aquarium which implies you don't have one.

In any case, what is it that you want to refer to? The cleaning of the aquarium, or your meeting with him?

wolfbm1

Polish
    No, I haven't got an aquarium. I just wonder if I can say how long I see or meet a person using the present perfect simple.

Hermione Golightly

British English