I <have> studied German for two years, but then I quit.

< Previous | Next >

Ivan_I

Banned
Russian
If I want to mention something from the past without any "pre-conversation" which tense is better:

After a silence...
1 By the way, Jane. I studied German for two years but then I quit.
2 By the way, Jane. I have studied German for two years but then I quit.
or
1 By the way, Jane. I worked as a sales manager for two years but then I quit.
2 By the way, Jane. I have worked as a sales manager for two years but then I quit.

• lingobingo

English - England
    I don’t see what “out of the blue” has to do with it? What makes the past tense essential is the fact that you’re clearly talking about something that ended in the past. The situation/action did not continue to the present, therefore the present perfect is inappropriate.

Ivan_I

Banned
    Russian
    I don’t see what “out of the blue” has to do with it? What makes the past tense essential is the fact that you’re clearly talking about something that ended in the past. The situation/action did not continue to the present, therefore the present perfect is inappropriate.
    Well, I think these are OK.
    I have been married before. (I am single now)
    I have lived in Paris for two years. (I don't live in Paris now.)

I remember coming across these examples but don't remember where I read them.

lingobingo

English - England
    “I have been married before” is still true, whenever you say it (you will never stop having been married before). That constitutes relevance in the present.

“I have lived in Paris for two years” heavily implies that you still live there now. If you don’t live there now, you should use the past tense (if you want to sound like a native English-speaker).

Ivan_I

Banned
    Russian
    “I have been married before” is still true, whenever you say it (you will never stop having been married before). That constitutes relevance in the present.