I held the button for a mere five seconds and the hazard sign had illuminated the dash

< Previous | Next >

Mad12

English - New Zealand
So im a noob here and just registered. Im currently doing an English assessment and my teacher told that there is a grammar error in one of my sentences and she refuses to tell me even though i went back to her every 5 minutes. Im writing about a day at the race track and the sentence is

"I held the button for a mere five seconds and the hazard sign had illuminated the dash"

she gave me a hint that it was a verb but i still didn't understand what she was trying to say.

So if you guys could help me out it would be greatly appreciated.

Feel free to add words in to make it sound better

Thanks

• Cagey

post mod (English Only / Latin)
    English - US
    Hello Mad12. :)

Before we help you with homework, we ask you to make a try of your own. How about this: you pick out the verb[s] in your sentence, and tell us whether you can see any problems with them. Then we'll have a starting point for our discussion. :)

Mad12

English - New Zealand
    Hey Cagey. Thanks for the quick reply. Well the only verb i can see is held. Sign is also one but the verb is kinda of like a signature.

Cagey

English - US
    You are right that sign is not a verb in this sentence, though sometimes sign is a verb.

What would you call "had illuminated"? ;)

Mad12

English - New Zealand
    a verb? I did ask my teacher though and she said she liked the word "illuminated"

Mad12

English - New Zealand
    If you were to change this sentence in to your own words, what would it be?

Cagey

English - US
    Yes, illuminated is a verb. It is a perfectly good verb.

I can't read your teacher's mind, but she may have wanted you to change the form of one of the verbs. For instance, whether you say "had illuminated" or just plain "illuminated" depends on other parts of your writing.
    Please give us the sentence before the one we are discussing.

Mad12