I prefer vs I'd prefer

< Previous | Next >

alwayschilled

Polish
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the forum so welcome all. I've been using wordreference for ages but this is my first post ever. Just some background information, I'm an English teacher in one of Polish junior high schools. Currently, I'm preparing some of my students for the first stage of the most prestigious English competition in our province. The competition has been organized for may years; therefore, I ask my students to solve past papers which are available to download from the organizer's (our local board of education unit) website. Unfortunately, no key is provided (quite shocking considering the reputation of the organizers) so it's me who has to check everything.

And I've got a hard nut to crack here or maybe it's just my lack of competence - seriously, I'm starting to doubt my skills because of such examples. Anyway, here's the example:

……………. to commute to work by train rather than be stuck in a boring job in my little town.
a) I’d prefer b) I like more c) I prefer d) I’d rather

As I mentioned before, there's no key and no further context. Some of my students chose a), others c) and I really can't tell them the difference. I'm far from questioning the competence of our local board of education but don't you think it's a bit too tricky for junior high students? Or maybe there's something wrong with my English and I need some extra lessons :) Can somebody help, please?

P.S. There is one more tricky example in the paper, but as far as I know, I have to post it as a separate thread.

• Greyfriar

Fear not, I'm back with you. I think the answer is 'I prefer'. If you were to use 'I'd prefer' this takes us into the future tense. However, these examiners are being very unfair since 'I'd prefer' does also work here.

cubaMania

Yes, it's a flawed question because both "I prefer" and "I'd prefer" (contraction of I would prefer) could fit in this sentence. But they are not 100% interchangeable.