I studied Chinese for two years.

yuechu

Canada, English
大家好!

I'm starting to try to learn how to use 了 correctly and had a question about the usage of 了 in the following example:
我学了两年中文。

Are the following sentences also correct?
我学两年(的?)中文了。
我学了两年(的?)中文了。

If so, what is the difference?
Sorry if these are very basic questions! I sometimes have trouble understanding even some basic aspects of Chinese grammar, I think. Thank you in advance for your help!

• fyl

Mandarin Chinese
    Well, 了 isn't a simple question...

You do need the first 了. 的 is optional. The sentence will have different meanings if add/remove the second 了.

The second 了 is actually easier to explain. Basically, the function of the final 了 is similar to the "perfect aspect". In this case 我学了两年中文了 is similar to "I have been studying Chinese for two years" in English. That is, you were studying Chinese in the past two years and you are still doing it now.
    If without the final 了, the sentence would have a simple past tense:
    我年轻的时候学了两年中文,但现在忘光了 = I studied Chinese for two years when I was young, but I have forgotten everything.
    我年轻的时候学了两年中文,所以现在看得懂这张报纸 = I studied Chinese for two years when I was young, so I can understand this newspaper.
    我先学了两年中文,又学了两年希腊文 = I studied Chinese for two years, then studied Greek for another two years.

For the first 了, I think its function is called "perfective aspect" (not to be confused with the "perfect aspect" above). I don't understand the definition very well myself so I'll let others to explain it.

BTW, if you change the word order to 我学中文两年(了), you won't need the first 了 anymore. But that's a different story (maybe "for learning Chinese (topic), it's been two years").

little Rabbit

Chinese
    I think the above three sentences by@baosheng are correct.

To me,

我学了两年中文。The stress in on 中文, or 两年中文。

我学两年(的?)中文了。The stress is on 两年。
    我学了两年(的?)中文了 I think the stress is still on 两年。