I was given a gift

< Previous | Next >

Aranjuez

Hi,
Could you tell me, please, if an animate object can become a subject of a passive construction in German.

Mir wurde ein Geschenk gegeben => Ich wurde ein Geschenk gegeben.

Sorry if the question has already been answered, I'm not very good at finding existing threads :(

Last edited:
  • Frank78

German
    Hi,
    Could you tell me, please, if an animate object can become a subject of a passive construction in German.

Mir wurde ein Geschenk gegeben:tick: => Ich wurde ein Geschenk gegeben.:cross:
    Well, "mir" is an animate subject. ;)

Er gibt mir ein Geschenk.

Possible passives:
    Mir wurde ein Geschenk (von ihm) gegeben.
    Ein Geschenk wurde mir (von ihm) gegeben.
    Von ihm wurde mir ein Geschenk gegeben.

Aranjuez

Thank you..So, German doesn't provide for the "double Passive", if compared with English where it's possible with verbs taking two objects?

The gift was given to him=> Das Geschenk wurde ihm gegeben
    He was given a gift=>:cross:

Or it's just because this verb (geben) doesn't allow it, and with some other verbs it may work?

Thanks...

berndf

German (Germany)
    Ihm wurde ein Geschenk gegeben.

Since English has no cases it must be "he" and not "him" because the personal pronoun is in front of the verb.