Russian
Hello everyone!
Could you please help me?
I'm watching "The little things" and I have heard a such answer :

Ich bin ein Cop.

Here is a context:

- Sind Sie auf bei der Mordkommission?
- Nein, nein ma'am. Ich bin ein Cop.

And my questions is why there is "ein" before "Cop"?
I know that professions we say without any article, like I bin Arzt.

Thank you in advance.

• berndf

German (Germany)
    There isn't really much of a difference in terms of meaning. There is a certain difference in emphasis. Without article the emphasis is on the profession and the/or the qualifications needed without any reference to other people of the same profession while the version with indefinite article puts the emphasis on being part of a group. Here it means something like "No, I am one of the other people working here".

Frieder

And you have to consider that the words should be roughly lip-sychronous. The original would be "I'm a cop" so they dubbed it "ich bin ein Cop" because it fits the lip movement.

That said, I don't agree with
    There is nothing wrong with Ich bin ein Arzt either.
    This sounds utterly weird to me and I'd never say "ich bin ein Arzt".

The only situation I could imagine: There are 100 people in one room and it is general knowledge that there are 3 physicians among them. Then I could ask "ich bin ein Arzt, aber wo sind die anderen beiden?". So that's only a .00000005% situation.

Standard situation (most likely to be found in movies):
    "Ist ein Arzt hier? Wir brauchen einen Arzt!"
    "Ich bin Arzt!"

berndf

German (Germany)
    So that's only a .00000005% situation.
    Yes, that was my point:
    In most cases, it just isn't what you want to say
    The issue is not the grammatical construct but the meaning it carries and the likelihood of encountering the different contexts in real life speech situations.

Besides, if you ponder a bit I am sure you will find more context where Ich bin ein Arzt would be possible. Here are two examples: