I'm a good hand at it, too

Ptak

Rußland
Could someone tell me please if this answer makes sense in the dialog below?

- Excuse me for beeing rude with you this morning.
- You know, I'm a good hand at it, too.

What it supposes to mean is "I can be rude, too", and it supposes to sound a bit ironical. :)

Thanks.

• katie_here

England/English
    Hi Ptak,

It doesn't make sense to me

I'm a good hand at it, is really said when you are good at a physical task.

"Would you believe it, my wife thinks I'm a good painter, she wants me to paint the fence"

"You know, I'm a good hand at it, too!."

or

"Excuse me for being rude with you this morning"
    "It's okay, I have mornings like that too!".

Trisia

Romanian
    Hmm, if that doesn't work, you could try something like "that's alright, "rude" is my area of expertise" or "being rude is what I do [for a living]", "'rude' is my middle name," etc.

Ptak

Rußland
    "Excuse me for being rude with you this morning"
    "It's okay, I have mornings like that too!".
    But how about:

- Excuse me for being rude with you.
    - <you can't say here anything about mornings>

By the way, in Russian, we actually don't say "I know how to be rude" either. But as a joke, it can be used.

katie_here

England/English
    I'll leave it to somebody that understands how things are said in Russian. What I've said is perfectly natural here, but I couldn't even begin to understand why it's not said in Russia.

Sorry I can't be of more help.

Last edited:

Ptak

Rußland
    you could try something like "that's alright, "rude" is my area of expertise" or "being rude is what I do [for a living]", "rude is my middle name," etc.
    I'm afraid it's not what I'm trying to say. This variant is too exaggerated. :)
    What I'm trying to say is: "I can be rude sometimes, too" (with a slight ironical nuance, maybe) and not "I'm always rude, it's my style of life".

Trisia

Romanian
    Oh... I was thinking about myself :D