In the amount of [on account of]

Silver

Chinese,Cantonese,Sichuan dialect
Hi,

I got a term from my textbook, it is a business term, since my major is business English, but I am not sure whether it makes sense, I cannot check it out in the dictionary. The the is "in the amount of", means "for", please take a look at my self-made sentence to see whether it makes sense:

He travelled to the city in the amount of that strange girl he mentioned last time in the conversation.

Does it make sense?

Thanks

• Miss Julie

English-U.S.
    Your sentence does not make sense. "Amount" means a sum or quantity, as in:

A check in the amount of $25.00

The amount of sugar needed for a recipe

Now that you know this, how would you revise your sentence?

Solohina

russian
    I hope it's okay to continue posting in this thread, instead of creating a new one with a related inquiry.
    Miss Julie
    Regarding
    in the amount of
    It is often a matter of dispute with my colleagues.
    I have always been under the impression, that this phrase is mostly used by Russians, who think in their native language and translate Russian expressions word-by-word instead of finding an English equivalent (we call it "Runglish" :) ).
    So, I insisted several times on changing "a bonus/payment/fee in the amount of $100.00" to "a bonus/payment/fee of $100.00" However, now that I see you using this expression in your example, I think I was wrong.
    Does the expression "in the amount of" sound natural to a native speaker?

Miss Julie

English-U.S.
    "a bonus/payment/fee in the amount of $100.00" to "a bonus/payment/fee of $100.00"

Both are correct and sound natural to a native (AmE) speaker! :)

"On account of" is just another way to say "because of" or "due to," as in this example:

He decided not to drive to New York on account of the bad weather.

Parla

Member Emeritus
    English - US