individuals, including my colleagues, and I (or ME or MYSELF), perceived ....

Discussion in 'English Only' started by out there, Nov 22, 2009.

1. out there Member

UK
    Thai
    Please kindly help me with the following sentences:

1. Based upon my academic and professional experiences as a teacher, I found that different individuals, including my students, my colleagues, and I (or ME or MYSELF), perceived the nature of conducting scientific research in different ways. Which one is correct or more formal?

2. This means that a knowledge claim is fabricated not only by different research participants but also by ME (or MYSELF) as a researcher.

3. This part disscusses in detail the research findings, as previously reported in Part 3, in order to provide............... (Are commas needed before 'as' and after '3' ?

Many thanks.

2. Hi, out there,

For 1 and 2, I prefer me, as I find the reflexive pronoun inappropriate.

In 3, I consider the commas to be optional. I would keep them in.

Rover

3. out there Member

UK
    Thai
    Hi Rover_k

Many thanks for your help.

4. SpyroNinja Member

New York City
    English, New York
    In sentence one, I is proper English. Often in speaking and in informal situations native English speakers use me but it's not "right." In sentence two, some people use myself but this is ungrammatical. It's a hypercorrection, and people use it because they think it is right and believe it sounds more intelligent and more formal. You should use me there. I think the commas should definitely be used in sentence three.

Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
  5. out there Member

UK
    Thai
    Many thanks, SpyroNinja. You've saved my life.

6. JulianStuart

JulianStuart Senior Member

Sonoma County CA
    English (UK then US)
    The I in green is the subject of found and is correct.
    The subject of perceived is different individuals.