infinitivo pessoal em inglês

< Previous | Next >

User With No Name

English (U.S.)
Forgive me for writing in English, but I have been wondering about something. (I have a lot of time on my hands lately.)

When I studied Portuguese, much was made of the "infinitivo pessoal." It was described as a grammatical structure that distinguished Portuguese from some other languages, notably Spanish. For example, "para vocês aprenderem," as far as I know, would have to be something like "para que aprendan" in Spanish.

But nobody ever compared this to English. (It was a Portuguese class for Spanish speakers.) And in English, we can say things like "I want you to study," or "For him to lose weight, he needs to eat less."

So now I'm wondering if we could say that, like Portuguese, English also has an "infinitivo pessoal." Or is it a completely different structure for some reason that I'm not seeing?

Thanks.

• jazyk

Brazílie, portugalština
    I want you to study não admite o infinitivo pessoal em português. É necessário o subjuntivo/conjuntivo: Quero que estudes/Quero que você estude.

For him to lose weight, he needs to eat less." - Esta, sim, admite o infinitivo pessoal: Para (ele) perder peso/Para (ele) emagrecer, (ele) precisa (de) comer menos.

Dymn

Well, I'd say that for it to be a personal infinitive it needs to inflect in person and number, otherwise it doesn't make much sense :confused:

However as you mention in your example, there's certainly a difference in usage between Portuguese and Spanish in that Portuguese makes a more ample use of infinitive constructions rather than clauses introduced by que, which is probably related to the personal infinitive but is a different topic.

For example Astur-Leonese language also seems to prefer infinitive constructions yet it lacks an inflected infinitive:

Wikipedia said: