Intonation in Korean as spoken in North Korea

< Previous | Next >
Hi all!
I am no great expert in Korean, but I hear it spoken quite often. And this thing always puzzled me:
Why is it that they seem to speak with such emphasis? such exaggerated tones? at least, on TV?
Is that the way they normally speak in everyday life?
This is nothing like what I hear from South Korean speakers, whether on television or in everyday life?
Is that a characteristic feature of North Korean?

• Avant Gardener

English - North America
    People who are more familiar with everyday life in North Korea can weigh in, but this is not how most people speak. In fact the video is from a very famous announcer, 리춘히 (Ri Chun-hee), who popularized this kind of speaking style for North Korean broadcast. In the move "Parasite," when the characters begin to mimic North Korean broadcasters, it is probably 리춘히 who they are thinking of (consciously or unconsciously). While some political or official speeches may approximate 리춘히's speaking style, this is not how people talk for most occasions.

Edit: This post originally responded to a video that has been taken down. Suffice it to say that you can find many examples of everyday speech in North Korea quite different from the famous news announcements if you look online. North Korean film also provides examples of more naturalistic dialogue.

Last edited:

pcy0308

Korean
    Hello Setwale_Charm,
    Avant Gardener is spot on with the 리춘히 (Ri Chun-hee) reference. No, it is not how people talk up north. Checking out some YouTube videos on and interviews with North Korean defectors will give you a good idea of how North Koreans actually speak.