Irish dialects

mtmjr

English (US)
Hi,

I'm just beginning to learn Irish and I have an app on my iPad called uTalk Irish. It's great because for every word/phrase it lists, there's recordings of native speakers. However, it seems that the two native speakers (one female, one male) have two very different accents. I just don't know which one I should be focusing on since I'm finding that I'm pronouncing some words with one accent, others in another. I imagine this might sound odd to other speakers? Anyway, I've listed some examples below and how the male voice (M) and female voice (F) pronounces each (my IPA attempt as well as sounds). I'd like to know which one is more common, or closer to "standard" Irish. Thanks!

liathróid
M: [liərɔɪd] lee-uh-royd
F: [liəro:d] lee-uh-rode

siosúr
M: [ʃosɔr] show-soar
F: [sɪsur] sih-soor

clúdach litreach
M: [kludəç lɪtrəç] clue-dech li-trech (with "ch" representing a velar fricative)
F: [kludək lɪtrək] clue-duck li-truck

tuáille
M: [tuɑɪlə] too-eye-leh
F: [tuɔlə] too-awe-leh

Sorry for all the examples, I just wanted to be as clear as I could. To be honest, I just used [r], but I have no idea which /r/ I'm supposed to use since sometimes it sounds retroflex, sometimes a flap. Thanks in advance for the help!

-mtmjr

• L'irlandais

Ireland: English-speaking ♂
    Hi mtmjr,
    Can't help you with the pronunciation, sorry. But in answer to (part of) your question, there is no such thing as "standard" Irish.
    While in France, Paris became the dominant power, supressing (or at least trying to) all other regional dialects and in England the dialect of the Home counties is dominant for reasons of power & social status.