It won't be much longer ['much' determiner? / 'longer' adjective?]

< Previous | Next >

WildWest

Turkish
"It won't be much longer"

That sentence above is quite clear to understand, but what I want to know is something different. I'm not very good at sorting out the components of a sentence and that's why I'm here.

I think the word much is working as determiner here and the word longer is working as an adjective. Is that correct?

• Giorgio Spizzi

Italian
    Hullo, Wild.

My impression is that much is an adverb, meaning "by a large degree", and longer the comparative degree of the adjective long.

GS :)
    PS remember, though, that a sentence should never be quoted in isolation.

Last edited:

WildWest

Turkish
    Hullo, Wild.

My impression is that much is an adverb, meaning "by a large degree", and longer the comparative degree of the adjective long.

GS :)
    PS remember, though, that a sentence should never be quoted in isolation.
    At the beginning, I thought the same. But isn't the verb to be supposed to be followed by a noun or an adjective?

Cagey

post mod (English Only / Latin)
    English - US
    The verb 'to be' is followed by the adjective 'longer.'
    'Much' is an adverb modifying that adjective, and doesn't alter the basic syntax of the sentence: noun + 'be' + adjective. In other words, 'much' doesn't 'count' when we analyze the basic structure.

WildWest

Turkish
    The verb 'to be' is followed by the adjective 'longer.'
    'Much' is an adverb modifying that adjective, and doesn't alter the basic syntax of the sentence: noun + 'be' + adjective. In other words, 'much' doesn't 'count' when we analyze the basic structure.
    Thanks for your reply, Cagey. I didn't know the word "much" didn't count and affect the basic structure here. Thanks again for informing me.

WildWest

Turkish
    I'm not sure if it's counted as bumping the thread, but I have another question regarding this subject.