It's hard to explain why we [subordination / coordination]

< Previous | Next >

Sar9a

italian
Hello everyone! I actually have no idea how all of this works but I hope I'll know soon.
I just started studying a bit of English linguistics but some uncertainties came up.

For instance,the main issue is that I don't know how to deal with subordination and coordination.
1. ''It's hard to explain why we like a particular hue''. In this example I would say ''it's hard'' is the main clause while ''to explain'' and ''why we like a particular hue'' are two different,but both subordinate, clauses. Is that correct?

2.''Whether or not we care to admit it,we're all familiar with procrastination''. I would go for ''we're all familiar with procrastination'' as the main clause and ''whether or not we care to admit it'' as the subordinate clause. But,should I split the subordinate in two taking ''care'' and ''to admit it''? How does it work?

3. Last but not least. ''Think of a footballer dribbling towards the net''. ''think of a footballer'' as the main clause and ''dribbling towards the net'' as a subordinate,right? What kind of subordinate would that be though?
If somebody knows a bit more than I do,it'll be very appreciated!! Thank you in advance :)))

Last edited:
  • velisarius

British English (Sussex)
    Welcome to the forum, Sar9a.:)

A main clause must have a finite verb.

It's hard to explain why we like a particular hue - the main clause is the whole sentence, with a noun clause (why we like a particular hue) embedded in it. [To explain [why we like a particular hue]] is hard. To explain grammar is hard. "To explain" is an infinitive, subject of the clause whose finite verb is "is".

...we're all familiar with procrastination - main clause (There is only one subordinate clause in the sentence. Care to admit - a catenative verb phrase. "To admit" is an infinitive)