it's pride"r" or "more pride"??

< Previous | Next >

Ethaun

Chile - Español
Hi! a need someone who can give some aids about that little doubt and i'd like to be clear about it. ... :confused: It's PRIDER OR MORE PRIDE??:confused: . the contex is irrelevant, because i found that word alone.:eek:
It's my first time in this forum, so i hope to be useful too :D
thank U very much.

• VenusEnvy

English, United States
    Ethaun said:
    Hi! a need someone who can give some aids about that little doubt and i'd like to be clear about it. ... :confused: It's PRIDER OR MORE PRIDE??:confused: . the contex is irrelevant, because i found that word alone.:eek:
    thank U very much.
    Firstly, context is NEVER irrelevant. It always helps. In fact, context here would have been a help.
    Secondly, ¡bienvenid@ al foro! :p

Pride is a noun. :arrow:

"He has too much pride to come over and apoligize."
    "You need to have more pride if you want to play our game."

Proud is an adjective. :arrow:

"He's too proud to come over and apologize."
    "You need to be prouder if you want to play our game."

¿Está claro?

Artrella

Banned
    BA
    Spanish-Argentina
    Ethaun said:
    thank U very much.

Hi Ethaun!! I think you want to say "proud" (orgulloso) or is it "pride" (orgullo).
    If it is proud the comparative is "prouder" and the superlative "proudest"

suzzzenn

USA English
    I have heard people use "prider" as a slang term for someone who is proud of something.

Someone who attends a gay pride march = gay prider

I did an internet search and found this site which mentions car priders (or people who are proud of their cars... I found this very amusing!)

:) http://www.geocities.com/car_pride/duster.html

There were several references to a rock formation in Western Australia. The moral is, context is always important!

Ethaun

Chile - Español