I've been a teacher VS I was a teacher

xiaokyao

chinese
If a person use the two above sentences to introduce himself, what different ideas does he convey ?
My words in my question sounds wierd to my ears.But I hope I made myself clear! Thank you for your time!

• owlman5

English-US
    I'd expect to hear "I've been a teacher" together with some phrase about a length of time, xiaokyao: I've been a teacher for twenty years = I started teaching twenty years ago and I am still a teacher now.

I'd expect to hear "I was a teacher" in the remarks of somebody who was no longer a teacher. Perhaps she stopped teaching and now does something else with her time: I was a teacher when I was younger. Now I sell cars for a living.

Last edited:

boozer

Bulgarian
    If a person use the two above sentences to introduce himself, what different ideas does he convey ?
    My words in my question sounds wierd to my ears.But I hope I made myself clear! Thank you for your time!
    I was beginning to think that no one was ever going to ask a question about the difference between present perfect and past simple. :D

I have been a teacher. - you are saying this because you now know what it is like to be a teacher. You have the experience. The present relevance of your past experience is what matters, e.g.
    A. Teching is a tough job.
    B. Yeah, I know. I have been a teacher.

I was a teacher. - you no longer teach and you are probably thinking about when exactly you were a teacher, which is why you are using the past simple.

In some cases the two tenses can be used almost interchangeably. I think this may be one of those cases.

xiaokyao

chinese
    Owlman5 Thank you for you feedback!
    I read a book which explains some special usages of perfect tense rencetly. It makes sense when you drop some phrase about time when you use perfect tense. But it'll give you some different ideas. For instance, John has lived in Paris. That was ten years ago. He is now living in London.