Juego al béisbol. Lo juego.

jshill

Member
English-United States
Buenos días,

Soy maestra de español en los EEUU y acabo de enseñar los objetos directos. Mi pregunta es ¿si el deporte que sigue el verbo "jugar" es un objeto directo? La razón que pregunto es que aparece en una frase preposicional.
¿Es gramatical decir?:
1. Juego al béisbol.
A. Lo juego.

pero con otros verbos con frases preposicionales no es gramatical usar los pronombres directos:
1. Sales de la escuela.
A. La sales.

Ojalá yo haya descrito el problema que tengo aquí. Gracias de antemano-

• Lnewqban

Senior Member
    Spanish - Cuba
    "Juego al beisbol / Lo juego" is correct.
    We use that sentence mostly for present times, like what I am playing now.
    When we play baseball in a regular fashion, we instead say "Juego/practico beisbol / Lo juego/lo practico".

User With No Name

Senior Member
    English - U.S.
    Note that many Spanish speakers (notably Mexicans) say "juego béisbol" rather than "juego al béisbol."

And at least in theory, "béisbol" is a direct object in "juego béisbol," and so could be replaced by the pronoun "lo."

Maybe a native can tell us if people actually say that.

Cross-posted with @Lnewqban, whose distinction between "juego al béisbol" and "juego béisbol" I don't understand. To me, it's just a regional difference, not a question of meaning. Maybe s/he can explain a little?

Foraneo

Senior Member
    Español Argentina (tierra adentro)
    whose distinction between "juego al béisbol" and "juego béisbol" I don't understand. To me, it's just a regional difference, not a question of meaning. Maybe s/he can explain a little?
    Yes, you're right. I'd say it's even a personal preference. I sometimes hear it with the article and sometimes without.

Agró

Senior Member
    Spanish-Navarre
    NO es objeto directo si va precedido de "a":

DPD
    jugar(se). 1. Verbo irregular: v. conjugación modelo (→ apéndice 1, n.º 38).