knowledgeable

< Previous | Next >

pollock

Polish
hello,

Is this sentence correct and can I use a word "knowledgeable" or should I find more suitable one instead?

I am a graduated Graphic Artist knowledgeable in the field of Art and Design interested working in a gallery environment.
thanks,

• shawnee

English - Australian
    Hi pollock. There will be a number of alternatives here, this is my suggestion:
    "I am a qualified Graphic Artist with extensive knowledge in the related fields and would be interested in working in a gallery environment."
    I didn't see the above posts so yes I agree your use of knowledgeable was acceptable. I just thought to provide an alternative.

Last edited:

Silver

Chinese,Cantonese,Sichuan dialect
    Hi,

I was talking to a native speaker, there were 4 people talking. D is a man who has a very strange English name “Rorschach”, and I know nothing about this name. Then the native speaker told me something about it, but since I knew nothing about the name, I didn’t know what he was talking about. Then I looked up the name and immediately understood what the native speaker was talking. I wonder if I can say:

Brian, you are knowledgeable.

I want to say that he knows many things. Since “Rorschach” is a name applied to one of the characters of a Chinese cartoon. But he even told me the name is also about a test, which was totally unknown to me.

I think it’s fine. But I looked up “knowledgeable”, I found that the meaning of it is not what I want, so I’m confused.

Thanks a lot

Last edited:

Silver

Please explain this a little bit more. What do you see as the problem with using 'knowledgeable' here?
    Hi, Cagey, thanks a lot, first.

I first don't understand which is fine or both:

Brain, you are knowledgeable.
    Brain, you are a knowledgeable person.

Does it need to be placed before the noun?