Latin: Easier than Spanish?

< Previous | Next >

JLanguage

USA: American English, Learning Hebrew and Spanish
Is Spanish easier than Latin? I am considering switching from studying Latin at school to Spanish. Latin is a very difficult language, and it is not nearly as useful as Spanish in the US. I'm not exactly sure why I decided to take it in the first place.

Thanks,
-Jonathan.

• moira

spanish, catalan (Spain)
    It depends on you, but I don't think latin is very useful nowadays (unless you are thinking to move to the Vatican). I studied latin at school and I found it very difficult too.

JLanguage

ecce consentis tu, latinus difficillumus est

EDIT: This is actually the first sentence that I have ever written in Latin. I suppose that's one of the reasons I'm dissatisfied. We never write Latin, never speak it, and rarely read it aloud. I feel my teacher has not put enough stress on proper Latin pronunciation.

garryknight

UK, English
    It's many years since I did Latin at school (feels like about 200) but I remember how much effort was involved, even though languages were fairly easy for me. Not only did the verbs have dozens of different endings, the nouns did too! Out of the 5 languages I've studied (Spanish, French, Russian, Latin, English), Spanish is far and away the easiest.

JLanguage

garryknight said:
    It's many years since I did Latin at school (feels like about 200) but I remember how much effort was involved, even though languages were fairly easy for me. Not only did the verbs have dozens of different endings, the nouns did too! Out of the 5 languages I've studied (Spanish, French, Russian, Latin, English), Spanish is far and away the easiest.