Leanring tips: How to learn new vocabulary?

< Previous | Next >
Status
Not open for further replies.

bwuw

Spanish (Spain) and Catalan
Hi! 大家好!
我5年以前开始学习汉语。现在我觉得汉语的语法差不多都学过了,但是继续学习新的汉语单词难及了!很多就记不住了!
I've been learning Chinese for 5 years right now and I'm having problems to keep on learning new vocabulary. Every time I hear a new word in class I know I'm likely to forget it just in ten minutes. As all my peers have a similar problem, I know that it's a common obstacle when your level is intermediate or advanced. I was wondering...besides vocabulary lists and flashcards, have you got a good system to learn new words? I have problems especially with abstract or formal terms.
Thanks a lot for your suggestions!
B

• xiaolijie

UK
    English (UK)
    Hi bwuw,

Nice to see your post but I'm sorry to say the forum doesn't accommodate this type of question, and normally it would be deleted on sight. As you can see from the rules (at the top of page), we deal only with questions on specific words or points of grammar. Anyway, I'll leave your thread open for a few days to see if some members would like to help / are able to help you with your question, but the thread will have to be removed eventually. I'm sorry that this is the rule.

Let's get back to the topic. I'm learning Chinese myself and I find it difficult to remember and to expand my vocabulary also. Since I don't live in a Chinese speaking environment, my only way of expanding and memorising the vocabulary is through books: I read, and when I come across new words I look them up. Looking up words is my main method of remembering them. Of course, through regular reading I'm also likely to see them again and this help reinforcing my memory.

As you can see, I don't have any magic way to learn the vocabulary at all, but with some determination to keep moving, I think I'm doing allright. :)

Good luck!

indigoduck

Canadian English
    Hi! 大家好!
    我5年以前开始学习汉语。现在我觉得汉语的语法差不多都学过了,但是继续学习新的汉语单词难及了!很多就记不住了!