Levantine Arabic: مهضوم

souffle

USA
Canada English
Hello! I am new to Arabic and I have a question about the word: مهضوم
Is there a noun version of this adjective? I am learning Modern Standard Arabic, so we didn't learn much about it in class as it is used only in spoken Arabic. Are there certain contexts when you would use this word? I am new to spoken Arabic.
Thank you,
souffle

• elroy

Imperfect Mod
    US English/Palestinian Arabic bilingual
    Welcome to the forums. :)

This word literally means "digested" (past participle) but is used in colloquial Arabic to mean "likable, fun" (usually referring to a person). It is not used much in Palestinian Arabic, but it is used a lot in Lebanese Arabic. I'm not sure about other dialects.

The noun form هضم is only used to refer to literal digestion, as far as I know.

souffle

USA
    Canada English
    Thank you! I thought it was cute that people could be described as "digestable" but I guess it makes sense that you wouldn't want to call somebody a "digested thing." :)

Crystal MaX

Middle East(Arabic,English,alittle Russian)
    Hello,
    That word means Cute and funny
    but it is a slangish word..

toolmanUF

St. Petersburg, Florida, USA (English)
    Ahlan w Sahlan,

I have a question about a word that I encountered in a Nancy Ajram song: "مهضوم " as it appears in the context : ياي شو مهضومي كلماتو

According to a translation, the word was translated as "sweet" as in "how sweet his words are." However, when I looked up the root of this verb I learned that it means "to digest" and that مهضوم usually means "digestible" or "digested."

Is it common in Arabic to use this word to mean "sweet" or is this unique to the Levantine dialect?

feeskaa

Morocco العربية
    Hello,
    This word is not used in classical Arabic. Generally, Lebanese and Syrians are the ones to use it, and it means very sweet and very light to the point that it can be easily digested!! :) Funny no?!!

Last edited by a moderator:

clevermizo