linguaggio squadrista

byrne

English - UK (Londoner)
Good morning all.
I was reading the headlines and a comment on Grillo's choice of language at the Sanremo Nusic Festival caught my eye. The article deemed it "squadrista". Googling the term, it seems to be applied to particularly "vocal" politicians. Does it mean threatening? bullying? loutish? fascist?

Il linguaggio usato da alcuni illustri esponenti del partito è volgare, offensivo e squadrista

The language used by some eminent party members is vulgar, offensive and brutish..

Thanks

• Gianfry

Italian
    There's a reference to Fascism. "Squadristi" were those groups of Fascists who phisically attacked the Mussolini's opponents, especially before the regime was established. "bullying" and "threatening" seem good options to me.

tsoapm

English (England)
    I think I’d go for “fascistic” myself. “Bullying” and “threatening” are more generic. “Squadrist” is a term I never recall coming across before now, though I studied the rise of fascism at A level.

byrne

English - UK (Londoner)
    I think I’d go for “fascistic” myself. “Bullying” and “threatening” are more generic. “Squadrist” is a term I never recall coming across before now, though I studied the rise of fascism at A level.
    :tick:Nor do I

I'm not sure about fascistic though as I have seen it applied to left-leaning politicians as well as right, which may sound a bit odd unless it is used as a "double" insult.... Is it synonymous with fascista in Italian?

Gianfry

Italian
    I discarded "fascistic" because it sounds a bit too strong to my ears. "Fascista" and "squadrista" are not synonimous. "Squadrismo" was part of Fascism, but is now used in the sense I mentioned: to label a violent behaviour against political opponents. Of course it recalls Fascism, but I would go for a more generic term in this case.

DreamTheater84

Italian