lone parent benefits

< Previous | Next >

Moon Palace

French
Hello everyone,
I don't have a particular context to offer, but I would like to know whether this lone parent benefits is only linked to the family composition, or whether it can be linked to the parent's unemployment.
In fact, the article I am studying mentions the idea that the guarantee of lone parent's benefits could be extended if that person found a job. And I wonder if it is not a specific job benefit for lone parents?
Thanks for helping me out on what is more of a social question than a linguistic one, although it mixes the two I suppose.

• Brioche

Australia English
    In Australia, a benefit is paid to single parents.
    Originally it was available only to mothers, and called the Supporting Mother's Benefit. Later, either parent could claim, and it was changed to Single Parent Payment, and it is currently called Parenting Payment Single.

It is means tested. It starts to reduce if the parent earns more than about $300 a months, and cuts out completely at about $3000 a month.

Joobs

Banned
    Glasgow, Scotland - English
    Hello everyone,
    In fact, the article I am studying mentions the idea that the guarantee of lone parent's benefits could be extended if that person found a job. And I wonder if it is not a specific job benefit for lone parents?
    In UK some benefits are some aren't - it really depends on the person's actual circumstances and income (if any). It is hard to give any real answer unless one knows a persons personal details. Obviously it would be unwise to put such on a public forum or even give them to some cyber-friend.

From conversations we have had privately I assume you specifically mean the UK. Therefore, here is a link to the DWP website which has all the details and rules.

http://www.dwp.gov.uk/lifeevent/benefits/

Moon Palace

French