M., Mme, Mlle

muznee

Maldives / Dhivehi
Hi
i am just new to French language. Can any one tell me the long form and translations of these Short forms.

• Sickduck

French - Canada
    M. = Mister (Mr.)
    Mme = Missus (Mrs)
    Mlle = Miss (no abbreviation, unless you use: Ms).

Mrs is the abbreviation of the no-longer-used word «Mistress» as the female equivalent of «Mister». With the abolition of slavery, Mistress has been replaced by Missus, but the abbreviation remains Mrs.

Last edited by a moderator:

VixenFox

Banned
    USA English
    M. Mme. & Mlle

Also, I think the word madame is abbreviated without the period because the abbreviation ends with the same letter as the word. Earlier today, I was trying to remember the abbreviation for the plural form of monsieur which is messieurs. Can someone please tell me? Thanks! (...)

mplsray

M. Mme. & Mlle

Also, I think the word madame is abbreviated without the period because the abbreviation ends with the same letter as the word. Earlier today, I was trying to remember the abbreviation for the plural form of monsieur which is messieurs. Can someone please tell me? Thanks! (...)
    I'd like to point out a difference between American English and British English here: When a woman from a French-speaking country continues to be be referred to by the French title rather than Mrs., that title is generally spelled with a period (full stop). You can see this in the online Encarta, American Heritage, and Random House dictionaries--Merriam-Webster's dictionary gives Mme without the period. The title Mlle, also occasionally used instead of Miss for a girl or woman from a French-speaking country, is also shown with a period in the first three dictionaries and without a period in the M.-W. dictionary, except that the Random House adds Mlle (without a period) as a variant spelling.