may/might well have done meaning

moohyun

japanese- japan
Hello, I am studying English as a second language.

I looked the word up in the dictionary and there are two meanings of may/might well.

1.used to say that there is a good reason for a reaction, question, or feeling

2. used for saying that something is fairly likely to be true or is fairly likely to happen

Is there a past tense of "May well" that means the former one?

If there is, could you give me some examples?

Thank you

• dojibear

English - Northeast US
    Can you give an example sentence using "might well" (or "may well") with meaning 1? I recognize meaning 2 but not meaning 1. Thanks.

There probably is a past tense, but I can't give an example of it, since I can't think of an example for the present tense.

se16teddy

English - England
    Present tense: He may/might well be telling the truth.
    Past tense: He may/might well have been telling the truth.
    Except in indirect speech and thought
    I thought to myself "He may/might well be telling the truth" ==> I thought he might well be telling the truth.
    I thought to myself "He may/might well have been telling the truth" ==> I thought he might well have been telling the truth.

The same pattern goes for all modal verbs when used in epistemic senses.

se16teddy

English - England
    He might be a little shocked at the irregulation of my lineament, his being so harmonious.
    This sentence makes no sense to me. Can't you use plain words, and avoid confusing and meaningless ones like "former", "latter" and "irregulation"? What sentence have you seen in which "may/might well" seemed ambiguous or confusing?

In #1 when you said "former" and "latter" I thought you were talking about some kind of time sequence, not the items you had numbered 1 and 2.

Last edited:

Loob

English UK
    Hello moohyun
    I see your definitions come from the Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English, which gives these three examples for the first meaning: