Minda, Micka (names for cats)

slavicka

English - Canada
Hello!

I'm researching different names of the female cat Dinah in Lewis Carroll's "Alice in Wonderland." In Skoumaloví's translation, Dinah is translated as Micka, and Cisař's translation translates Dinah as Minda. Could anyone tell me whether these names are very popular Czech names for cats, or if they have some cultural connotation?

Also, the Cheshire cat in Cisař's translation becomes 'čínská kočka' - would anybody know of possible Czech connotations for that?

Thanks in advance!

• Minda and Micka are very popular names here for cats! Don;t know their etymology though so I can't help you here.
    Čínská kočka means Chinese cat...Don't know it's cognates/relatives/whatever. :(

Enquiring Mind

English - the Queen's
    The Cheshire cat, of course, doesn't exist, it's entirely fictitious, the brainchild of Carroll himself. I'm no expert on moggies (for non-natives: "moggy" = colloquial, humorous and affectionate British English word for "cat"), but as far as I know, the Chinese cat doesn't exist either.

I would guess that the translator thought that most readers of the translation probably wouldn't know what a "Cheshire" cat was (unless they'd read Alice's Adventures in Wonderland in English) so he was looking for some sort of equivalent whose meaning might be more accessible to the Czech reader.

"Chinese" cats (as a breed) also don't exist (readers of the translation would be more likely to know that, or could easily find it out), and the word has the added advantage that it starts with the "ch" (č) [tʃ ] sound, and has two syllables.

It's probably one of the culturo-socio-linguistic compromises translators sometimes feel they have to make. Kolik překladatelů, tolik názorů - a neat way in Czech of saying: put five translators in a room with the same text to translate, and you'll get 27 different versions.

slavicka

English - Canada
    Thank you for the input! :))