most devastating of

LQZ

Mandarin
And, most devastating of all, old-fashioned prevention has flopped. Too few people, particularly in Africa, are using the “ABC” approach pioneered here in Uganda: abstain, be faithful, use condoms. ---taken from the NYT

Dear all,

This is my first time I've met the formula (a superlative adjective + of + noun), and I fail to catch up with its meaning. Could you help me? Thanks.

LQZ

• LQZ

Mandarin
    Thank you, patates frites. :)

Yes, I am trying.
    1 I still can't understand what "worst of all" means.
    2 Could you nicely give me more examples as to this kind of expressions?
    3 When I meet others next time, how could I infer its meaning?

Looking forward to your help.

LQZ

Packard

USA, English
    "Worst of all" equals "Worst of all possible outcomes".

"Most devastating of all" equals "most devastating of all possible outcomes".

patates_frites

Japanese, English - US
    Say there are three men.
    A is 1m80
    B is 1m75
    C is 1m60

A is the tallest of all, OR the tallest man of the three.
    C is the shortest of all, OR the shortest man of the three.

sound shift

English - England
    When I read "most devastating of all", I ask myself "most devastating of all the what?" The answer is that I don't know, because this refers to something that appears earlier in the text. Clearly, the non-use of "ABC" is the last in a list of regrettable factors.

LQZ

Mandarin
    Aha, I've got it. Thanks patates frites and Packard. I misread the original sentence. Thanks again.

LQZ

Mandarin
    When I read "most devastating of all", I ask myself "most devastating of all the what?" The answer is that I don't know, because this refers to something that appears earlier in the text. Clearly, the non-use of "ABC" is the last in a list of regrettable factors.