MSc student of/in/at engineering

crustpurse

Italian
Hi all,
I'm an Italian MSc student, I want to find the best-fitting title for my actual position.

First of all, the unofficial translation of the title of my MSc degree is:
Master Degree in Computer Science and Engineering
The two major fields are Information Security and Cyber Security.

Question 1:
Since there is no official translation may I change it to something more friendly? Like for example "Master Degree in Cyber Security Engineering" or "Cyber Security Engineering".

Question 2:
Suppose that we have the correct title, in a business card, which could be the appropriate title?
My doubt is about the "Engineer" role:

"MSc Engineering Student in Cyber Security"
vs
"MSc Student in Cyber Security Engineering".
vs
"Student in Master of Science in Cyber Security Engineering"

Also, I'm a bit confused about the usage of in/at/of, because I always use "in" but a lot of my collegues use instead "of".

Am I miss something? :confused:

Thanks in advance

• Glasguensis

Signal Modulation
    English - Scotland
    You are right, you should use "in" here.

Try looking at how other people describe themselves and use a similar style (look at a jobhunter or professional social network site and search for "student" and "engineer"). My personal choice would be "MSc Student in Cyber Security Engineering"

crustpurse

Italian
    Thanks for your reply.

You are right, you should use "in" here.
    Perfect.

Try looking at how other people describe themselves and use a similar style (look at a jobhunter or professional social network site and search for "student" and "engineer").
    After the conclusion it will be something like "Security Engineer", which actually is useless in my case :/

My personal choice would be "MSc Student in Cyber Security Engineering"
    Thanks for that

slej

Ireland / England English