must - have to

simonaj

italian, Italy
I studied the difference between "must" and "have to": Must is personal, have to is impersonal. But in what cases is it possible using them interchangebly?

• MrJamSandwich

English, UK
    In terms of context, the two are virtually always interchangeable, but must - being monosyllabic - sounds more immediate, more imperative. In British English (I'm not sure about usage elsewhere), must is more frequently used in written language, whereas have to is more commonly spoken. To my ears, must when spoken can sound quite brusque.

Another spoken variant, more informal and, some would argue, incorrect, is have got to - as in, I've got to feed the cat. The meaning is again exactly the same, but it sounds more casual.

simonaj

italian, Italy
    Thanks, so the difference is not so strict... and for instance : "I must go" can be "I have to go" too (even if it's a personal feeling)?

MrJamSandwich

English, UK
    Thanks, so the difference is not so strict... and for instance : "I must go" can be "I have to go" too (even if it's a personal feeling)?
    Both are correct in any context - but personally I rarely use "must" when speaking, except in this sort of construction:
    Why isn't Paul here?
    He must have forgotten.

This sounds perfectly natural, for all registers and situations because have to doesn't really fit into the compound past tense:

He has to have forgotten.
    This doesn't sound particularly wrong to me, but it is very seldom used, if ever.

As for nearly every grammar point, this may vary between different English-speaking regions.

simonaj

italian, Italy
    Potete darmi qualche esempio di quando possono essere utlizzati sia "must" che "have to"? E cosa significa che "have to" è impersonale?

ElaineG

USA/English
    Must is personal, have to is impersonal
    Non capisco. Dove hai trovato quest'idea?

I must do my homework before I can go to the party.
    I have to do my homework before I can go to the party.