My daughter's house

Illuminatus

India, Hindi, English, Marathi
I am pretty new to Arabic. To make the possessive, I know that we add tags at the end of a word.

Eg. Bint is daughter, so Binti is my daughter.

How does this system work for Possesives like My daughter's House?

My daughter will be binTi, her house will be beThai, but how do I say my daughter's house?

• xebonyx

TR/AR/EN
    I am pretty new to Arabic. To make the possessive, I know that we add tags at the end of a word.

Eg. Bint is daughter, so Binti is my daughter.

How does this system work for Possesives like My daughter's House?

My daughter will be binTi, her house will be beThai baytun (house) baytuhaa (her house), but how do I say my daughter's house?
    As you may know already, that structure is what's known as an Idaafa. For now, you just need to know that it's the possessive relationship between two nouns (in this case, house and daughter).

You add the first person possessive suffix pronoun "ii"(my). So it would be baytu bintii ("house of my daughter") in raw form.

بيت بنتي

Faylasoof

English (UK) & Urdu (Luckhnow), Hindi
    Although personally I would prefer بيت ابنتى , I don’t think بيت بنتى is wrong. Why would the latter be considered incorrect in MSA? To me the difference between the two is the same as would be in English when one as a FATHER says, “My daughter’s house” vs. “My girl’s house”. Normally the former is heard, but the latter in not wrong and can be / is used in certain situations.

xebonyx

TR/AR/EN
    To me the difference between the two is the same as would be in English when one as a FATHER says, “My daughter’s house” vs. “My girl’s house”.
    Yep, that was the point I was trying to make earlier.

Faylasoof