Nahuatl: Pronunciation of xochitl

Rainbowlight

Spanish
Hello,

My question has to do with the proper pronunciation of the word "xochitl", which means "flower" in Nahuatl.

Could any of you enlighten me about this issue? I would be very grateful.

Thank you in advance,

Rainbow

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Rainbowlight

Spanish
    Thank you very much for your help. However, I tend to avoid many of the Wikipedia's IPA pronunciations, as I rather rely on sites like Forvo, where you have native speakers actually saying the word.

I once saw a video of a girl saying the word and it sounded like "Sóchil", which somehow made perfect sense. I have zero knowledge of the Nahuatl language, but why should one pronounce every single letter of Nahuatl words? English and French do not voice every letter of their written languages, so why should Nahuatl be any different in that respect?

Once again, thank you for your help.

Rocko!

Español - México
    c) -tl > -che: coatl > cuache, tepiatl > tepa- che; d) -tl > -l: cuauitl + ocelotl > caucel, cempoalli + xochitl > cempasúchil, coatequitl > coatequil, coyametl > coyamel, chilli + quilitl > chilaquil, huitztli + quilitl > huisquil, xochitl > súchil, tzapotl + yolotl > zapoyol.
    Nueva revista de filología hispánica. (1998). La acomodación fonética de los nahuatlismos al español. Tomo XLVI. Núm. 1.

MC2_J_064 Tlachia

387_623r_02 Tlachia

Rocko!

Español - México
    As a name for a person, Xochitl only has Spanish pronunciation: SOOO SHILLL
    The “tl” ending was pronounced in Classical Nahuatl.

Last edited:

Cenzontle

English, U.S.
    English and French do not voice every letter of their written languages, so why should Nahuatl be any different in that respect?
    I imagine that the answer is that Nahuatl was reduced to writing more recently than English or French, and therefore has had less time to change pronunciation.